The Structure

The AES is comprised of the 23 Participating First Nations (PFNs), Local Education Authorities, Regional Education Councils (RECs), and the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body (KEB).

Local Education Authorities

Each PFN has law-making power and authority over education from JK to Grade 12 on-reserve and may set-up a Local Education Authority (education board or committee) to support and manage education programs and services at the community level.

Regional Education Councils

Each PFN belongs to an REC; the REC provides opportunities for networking, and for determining local and regional education priorities. The RECs are also responsible for electing and voting for candidates that will sit on the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body Board of Directors.

Kinoomaadziwin Education Body

The PFNs will work together through a central administrative structure called the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body (KEB). The KEB will take direction from the PFNs and support First Nations in their delivery of education programs and services and liaise with the Province of Ontario on education matters.