AES Addressing Racism and Inequity in Schools

At the Fall Regional Meetings for the Anishinabek Education System (AES) in 2020, the Participating First Nations (PFNs), District School Boards and Ministry of Education initiated discussion of addressing racism and inequity in schools.  Following those discussions, the AES Addressing Racism Committee was established to continue the ongoing work related to the topic of addressing racism in schools.  The committee meets on a monthly basis, and over the last year has worked on the development of an online tool to report incidents of racism.

The tool was created in response to the request of Participating First Nations. It will support the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body (KEB) in addressing incidents of anti-Indigenous racism that occur in education settings. The tool is for parents, students, and community members to safely report incidents of racism so that the KEB can effectively track, support, and respond to these incidents, in collaboration with our education partners.

AES Addressing Racism Committee Members

Patti Big Canoe – Education Director, Chippewas of Georgina Island

Ian McCallum – Education Officer, Ministry of Education

Anya Kater – Senior Advisor, Education Equity Secretariat

Bonnie Nahwegahbow – Regional Education Council Coordinator Region 2, KEB

Nancy O’Donnell – Multi-Year Action Plan Manager, KEB

JoAnne Henry – Education Officer, Indigenous Education Office

Lisa Wabegijig – Regional Education Council Coordinator, Region 3, KEB

Daniel Stevens- Director of Education, Nipissing First Nation

Paige Fortier – Multi-Year Action Plan Manager, KEB