SUMMARY OF THE MULTI-YEAR ACTION PLAN FOR THE MASTER EDUCATION AGREEMENT

Chapter 10 of the Master Education Agreement (MEA) requires the development of a Multi-Year Action Plan (MYAP) to guide the implementation of the Master Education Agreement. The MYAP is intended to set out implementation activities for a 3-year period. The Kinoomaadziwin Education Body (KEB) on behalf of the Anishinabek Education System, and the Ministry of Education (EDU) are in the process of negotiating the first MYAP. The MYAP will also serve as the basis for a funding agreement to support the implementation of the Plan.

The MYAP will identify:

- (a) projects and activities to be undertaken to fulfill the objectives of the MEA;
- (b) the parties that will participate in the completion of those activities;
- (c) the timeframe for the start of those activities;
- (d) deliverables and outputs associated with those activities;
- (e) the outcomes and impacts associated with the project; and
- (f) the funding source and resources required to support those activities.

The MYAP currently being negotiated addresses the topics set out below.

- Support for Joint Master Education Committee Operations. This Committee is responsible for overseing and monitoring the implementation of the MEA.*
- Initiatives and projects targeted at improving Anishinabek student success and well-being and student transitions and pathways.
- Ongoing collaboration among AES First Nations, school board and EDU, such as regional education meetings and the Annual Niigaan Gdizhaami – We are Moving Forward Together - Forum.
- System capacity development in areas of curriculum, professional and leadership development.
- Implementation of the Data and Information Sharing Agreement between KEB and EDU.
- Research and evaluation on the implementation and effectiveness of the MEA, including outcomes related to Anishinabek student success and wellbeing.

*This 10-member committee is comprised of 4 representatives from the Anishinabek First Nations, 1 representative from the Kinoomaadzawin Education Body and 5 representatives from the Ontario Ministry of Education.